Vilavi announces the launching of its “Phase III” building construction intended to increase the number of social housing units with community support in Montreal and thus contribute to the reduction of poverty, poor housing and homelessness in the city center. The new construction project is part of the AccèsLogis program; a program jointly funded by the Société d’habitation du Québec and the City of Montreal.

“This project is a good example of the actions taken by the City to create development opportunities, but also to develop living, mixed and friendly neighborhoods,” said Robert Beaudry (See Metro newspaper article).

The building will offer 25 subsidized housing units in the Ville-Marie borough at the corner of Viger and Saint-André streets in the fall of 2020.

Corner Viger and St André street

With this project, the organization is participating in the City of Montreal’s inclusion strategy, which aims to:

  • Maintaining social diversity by encouraging the development, in large sites, of a diversified range of housing to meet the needs of citizens with varied incomes, thus favoring the creation of mixed and inclusive communities;
  • Supporting the production of affordable housing by facilitating the development of social and community housing and stimulating the production of affordable, private housing.

More about Montreal Strategy

Vilavi annonce la mise en chantier de son immeuble « Phase III » destiné  à augmenter le nombre de logements sociaux avec support communautaire à Montréal et contribuer ainsi à la réduction de la pauvreté, du mal logement et de l’itinérance au centre-ville. Le projet de construction neuve se fait dans le cadre du programme AccèsLogis, programme financé conjointement par la Société d’habitation du Québec et la Ville de Montréal.

Élévation du projet tel qu’il sera livré au cours de l’été 2020

«Ce projet est un bon exemple des actions entreprises par la Ville pour créer des opportunités de développement, mais aussi pour aménager des quartiers vivants, mixtes et conviviaux» a précisé Robert Beaudry. (Voir l’article du journal Metro)

L’immeuble offrira 25 unités de logements subventionnés dans l’arrondissement Ville-Marie au coin des rues Viger et Saint-André dès l’automne 2020.

Avec ce projet, l’organisme participe à la stratégie d’inclusion de la Ville de Montréal qui vise notamment :

  • Le maintien de la mixité sociale en encourageant le développement, dans les grands sites, d’une gamme diversifiée de logements pour répondre aux besoins des citoyens ayant des revenus variés, favorisant ainsi la création de communautés mixtes et inclusives;
  • Le soutien de la production de logements abordables en facilitant la réalisation de logements sociaux et communautaires et en stimulant la production de logements abordables privés.

En savoir plus

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *